// 5 Reasons Why // “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air” is one of the best comedies on Earth

Man, some days I really miss the 90’s.

I’ve lived in a few countries these last 23 years of my life and been fortunate enough to visit many more. One thing I’ve learned over the course of my travels is that people around the globe share my enthusiasm and love for one of the greatest TV shows on the face of this planet. And yes, I really mean that, the Fresh Prince really is one of the best TV shows ever.

Here’s five reasons why:

1. The Theme Song

This theme song is, in fact, the shit. If there’s any theme song in the world that one should actually remember and be somewhat capable of singing along to it’s this one, ok? Of course that is unless you missed the 90’s (if you decided to cryo sleep through that decade you made a huge mistake). In that case you people are missing out on an essential part of existing so I highly recommend you start watching the show! Trust me, you don’t even have to sit down and listen to the theme song over and over to get a grasp of it, it is so INSANELY catchy that a couple episodes in you’ll find yourself just rapping along in no time! I mean even after all these years, with everything that has gone on in his life since, Will still remembers it!

2. The show NEVER gets old

I don’t know about you but there are plenty of comedies from the 90’s that when re-watched in 2014 frankly don’t garner the same reactions they used to. I think our perception of what is funny evolves just like we do day by day and it is inevitable that what used to have you in fits a few years ago may not even be capable of bringing a smile to your face today.

THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO THE FRESH PRINCE!

I can guarantee you that in every episode of this show, at some point or the other, you will find yourself gasping for air ’cause you’re laughing so hard. I can’t tell you how incredibly well the show has aged and their jokes are so witty and sometimes just plain silly that you can’t help but enjoy yourself.

Exhibit A:

3. Great characters

I really like how well drawn out the characters in the Fresh Prince are. Each character that had a significant part in the show had their own persona which really allowed viewers to identify with these people. Even in this day and age these characters are so relatable you could find people that exude similar personalities within your own circle of friends! I mean c’mon, I’m sure most of you know that one spoilt brat who always gets what she wants. Bonus points if her name happens to be Hilary.

freshprince

4. Carlton’s Dance

‘Nuff said. 

5. It’s for everyone

freshprince2

There are so many shows out there today that are targeted at specific audiences and that’s alright. I recently made the horrible mistake of watching an episode of Game of Thrones with my family that featured an incest sex scene and suffice it to say that it was extremely awkward. This is the biggest reason I’m so fond of the Fresh Prince. It is truly one of those shows that’s got something for everyone. Kids will burst out laughing at Carlton’s antics while the older demographic will never feel left out ’cause there’s plenty to keep them entertained as well. Besides being a fun watch there’s so much that kids can take from these shows. I can’t count the number of times that I’ve seen or heard something off of the Fresh Prince that has in a small way influenced my thoughts and the way I go about things (Dancing tips from Carlton NOT included). Really, this show brings the family together.

Anyways, Christmas is in a couple of months so if anyone would like to make mine special this is most definitely a win.

Leave a Reply

