Beginner motorcycles

I haven’t always been a motorcycle guy to be honest, always been more of a car person. All of that changed when my Dad bought his BMW K1200 GT.

IMG_0037.PNG

The one in the picture is not his but it looks exactly the same. It’s a sport touring bike, really good for long distances. I’ve only ever been the pillion rider but the seat is extremely comfortable! Being on a motorcycle is just an amazing feeling, super exciting and really gets the adrenaline pumping. And this is coming from someone who hasn’t even ridden a damn motorcycle! It’s a lot more personal than driving a car because it almost feels like an extension of yourself as you’re on the twisties, flowing with the bike around corners. Not to mention you become a part of a great (for the most part) community of people.

Anyways, I’m sure you’ve heard that most people advise to get started off with a 250cc-300cc motorcycle. In some countries you’d be forced to start of with lower displacement motorcycles after you first get your 2 wheeler license. I believe it’s usually a little under 50bhp but I could be wrong.

Here in Kuwait there isn’t any such rule and once you get your motorcycle license you could pretty much go out that same day and pick up a 1000cc motorcycle. No wonder you see so many squids on the roads here. There’s a lot of irresponsible riders who think not wearing protective gear (not even a helmet!) compensates for their incredibly small genitalia.

So, to a certain extent, I kinda agree with countries enforcing these laws however, maybe they shouldn’t make it a necessity to have a certain number of years in terms of riding experience to get a full license. Some people learn quite fast and get bored even faster because of it.

These license restrictions have really opened up the market for these “beginner” motorcycles though and you could get a used one really cheap nowadays. I’ve looked at a few and have narrowed it down to 2 bikes that I think would make for a good starter for me.

IMG_0038.PNG

Of course the Kawasaki Ninja 300 had to be in the list! It’s got a little more of a kick when compared to the 250’s and not to mention it looks fucking sick! Reviews I’ve read/watched have all agreed that it’s one of the best bikes to learn on, extremely nimble and agile when it comes to corners and it inspires confidence in new riders. Personally, if I chose the Kawasaki, I’d have to have it in this gorgeous white. I’m personally not a fan of the Kawasaki green but I do see when of them of the roads so they obviously sell!

The second bike I’ve been looking at is the Honda CBR500r:

IMG_0039.PNG

Personally, I really LOVE the look of this bike too. It’s a higher displacement, a little under 500cc, and it’s perfect for those looking for a little more grunt than a 300. I believe it’s a little bit bigger in terms or size as well so for those that are bigger built (like myself) this might be the ideal choice. At the end of the day however, we’re all different so I would highly recommend you test ride both of these bikes before you make a decision. From what I’ve seen/read/heard this bike has extremely comfortable seats as well. For those of you who are looking to be a little bit more economical about your motorcycle purchases it might definitely be a better idea to go for this. Not everyone would be willing to shell out money again in a year or so to upgrade their ride and it would certainly take you longer to outgrow this when compared to the 300.

As it stands right now, I think I’m leaning a bit more towards the Honda. I love the aggressive styling of the Kawasaki (I think the Honda is sexy as hell too!) but I feel like it would be a better idea for me to get a slightly larger bike and I’d like to own my first bike for a while at least before I consider selling it. Once I’m ready, I’ll either go in for a Yamaha R6 or a Suzuki GSX-R 1000. I think 600cc would be more than enough for me, I don’t think I would ever need the kind of power that a liter bike possesses but hey, I thought my iPhone 5s was perfect until a couple days ago so who knows haha!

Anyways, if I want any of this to actually materialize, I better start with getting my license first!

Leave a Reply

